top of page
  • Writer's pictureHappy Universe

Shark Fin Soup - minus the shark

Updated: Jan 21, 2022

Chinese New Year's around the corner, and we're sure that everyone's ready for a feast. As we enjoy this season, we hope to also be mindful of what we eat.


Some of you might want to cook up this traditional dish, Shark Fin Soup. But while it tastes great, its environmental impact is even greater. It's cruel to the sharks who are often discarded back into the water, and left to die.


While it's wonderful to uphold tradition, we implore you to innovate and improve upon our culture.


The other day my aunt asked me if I wanted Shark Fin Soup during Chinese New Year and I asked her if it was real sharks' fin. When she said yes, I immediately turned her down. While I appreciated the gesture, I would like to do my part for the environment.




So what are some things you can do?


1. Say no.

For example, in my case, I turned down my aunt before she made the dish, this way it saves her time, money, effort and the sharks.


2. Opt for alternatives.

Shark Fin Soup is one of my favourite dishes and as I grow older and am aware of the consequences and effects, I've started to opt for Shark Fin Soup that is made with fish maw instead. You can be creative and use or add any other ingredients you'd like.



We hope that this post inspires you to be creative this festive season and reminds you to still be responsible while you enjoy.

11 views

Recent Posts

See All

Plant-based meat, is it healthy?

In recent years, plant-based meats have become more popular. It's a great option for the environment, but the question is, what about for our health? Is it really healthier? What are plant-based meats

bottom of page