top of page
  • Simran Mahtani

The Last Straw



Hi everyone! My name is Simran and I am 7 years old. I just found out that plastic straws are not good for our earth. During the holidays, my mom showed me a video of a 9 year old girl, Moly Steer, who talks about plastic straw.


Everyday, people use more than 55 hundred million straws. This plastic straw does not break down. Some of it goes to our seas and hurt the animals staying there. Turtles think plastic bag is jelly fish, their favourite food. I also saw a video of a plastic getting stuck in a turtle’s nose…. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2J2qdOrW44


It was not nice. I made a decision to stop using plastic straws although I really use to love them, ask my mom! Instead, I use a metal one now. I can use it over and over without throwing it away. Thank you for reading my experience, and I hope you too will reduce or stop using plastic straws.

19 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page